USB 3.0

Recently I’ve tested, how fast USB 3.0 can be with an average 2.5″ harddisc.

The “Universal Serial Bus” or USB in short, was developed and introduced already in 1996 by Intel, intended as an interface for peripherial devices of any kind. 1998 the version 1.1 followed. Both versions provided a transfer speed of 12 MBit/s which was uninteresting for the use of mass storage devices even back then, although this usage was generally designated in the specification. Practically you get only about 900 KB per second with USB 1.1, so the transfer of a 50 MB file takes nearly a minute. As a comparison: My old Atari 1040STe already reached about 5 MB/s in the mid of the 1990ies on an external harddisc using an ACSI-SCSI-adapter.

The following diagram is the measurement of an “historical” USB flash drive – “DiskOnKey” – by M-Systems with a capacity of 128 MB which only supports USB 1.1:

DiskOnKey 128MB
An USB flash drive with a capacity of 128 MB by M-Systems

HDTune with DiskOnKey
Measurement of the transfer rate with the “DiskOnKey”

In the year 2000 USB 2.0 followed with an increased speed of 480 MBit/s. External harddiscs for this system where avaible by 2002 and reached about 30-40 MB per second. This standard was not changed for nearly 10 years.

USB 3.0 was introduced as the successor of USB 2.0 in November 2008 by the USB Implementers Forum. But it took quite a while afterwards, until this technology was available practically as well. Meanwhile, in Juli 2011, USB 3.0 has arrived practically – there are mainboards, which are equipped with USB 3.0 controllers as well as controllers to expand existing computers in different variations. External harddiscs and USB flash drives with USB 3.0 are also readily available.

The standard increases the maximum transfer speed to 5 GBit/s, which is more then tenfold compared to USB 2.0. Also the maximum allowed power consumption of connected devices was increased from 500 mA (or 2.5 watts) to 900 mA (or 4.5 watts), so the operation of 2.5″ harddiscs without separate power suppy is not a problem any more (also see Mini-FAQ: Using notebook HDDs on USB ports). The port was also extended by five additional contacts, but due to the shape of the connector the system is downward compatible – USB 3.0 devices can be used in USB 2.0 ports and vice versa.

The high speed makes USB 3.0 specially interesting for using external mass storage devices. Exactly at this aspect i’ve taken a closer look.

Controller

The controller is a DeLOCK 89284. This model is based on the VIA VL800, provides four external USB 3.0 ports and is intended to be used in a PCIe 2.0 slot. An additional molex connector provides a stable power supply for the connected devices.

Delock USB3 Controller

Harddisc

After replacing the harddisc of my netbook with an SSD a while ago I had a 160 GB harddisc remaining – not extremely fast, but big enough to transport a larger amount of data and still faster than most USB sticks.

I’ve put this harddisc into an external case, particularly an ICY BOX IB-231StU3-G by Raidsonic. Together with the case there also comes a connection cable and it is intended to be used without a separate power supply, which should not be a problem at all with USB 3.0 ports – nevertheless you can connect a 5 V power supply, if needed.

ICY Box IB231

The status LED lights up blue, when using USB 3.0 and red for USB 2.0. When accessing the harddisc, it flashes. The micro USB 3.0 connector is intended to be used with the provided cable, which has an extended plug – but at a pinch you can also use a USB 2.0 cable – then only a part of the connector will be used and the harddisc will of course run in the slower USB 2.0 mode only.

Benchmarks

Following is the direct comparison of the operation with USB 2.0 and USB 3.0.

With USB 2.0 the limited bandwith is very clear – the read speed is limited to about 33 MB/s.

Samsung USB2
Test with USB 2.0

With USB 3.0 only the harddisc itself is the limiting factor and you can clearly see the typical curve which slopes down to the end of the capacity. Although it is only a quite slow notebook harddisc, the speed at the beginning is 67 MB/s, which is more than twice compared to USB 2.0. Also the total average is still considerable higher as with USB 2.0.

Samsung USB3
Test with USB 3.0

When using faster harddiscs you can expect accordingly higher values as the speed limit of USB 3.0 is theoretically more than 400 MB/s.

More comfort with internal hub

The cable length is more critical with USB 3.0 as with USB 2.0 – the external harddisc was only stable with the provided cable with a length of about 80 cm. With a longer cable with 1.80 meters the harddisc was recognized, but any data transfer was aborted after a couple of seconds – also with active power supply for the harddisc.

Therefore i mounted an additional active USB 3.0 hub based on a VIA VL810 in a free 3.5″ slot which is easily accessible from the front and allows a stable operation of the external harddisc.

USB3 hub internal
Internal USB 3.0 hub

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

USB 3.0

Kürzlich habe ich getestet, wie schnell USB 3.0 mit einer durchschnittlichen 2,5″-Festplatte sein kann.

Der „Universal Serial Bus“, kurz USB, wurde bereits 1996 in der Version 1.0 von Intel als universelle Schnittstelle für Peripheriegeräte aller Art entwickelt und eingeführt. 1998 folgte die Version 1.1. Beide Versionen boten eine Geschwindigkeit von 12 MBit/s, was die Nutzung für Massenspeicher auch damals schon ziemlich uninteressant machte, auch wenn dies in der Spezifikation grundsätzlich vorgesehen war. Praktisch erreicht man bei USB 1.1 nur etwa 900 KB pro Sekunde, so dass die Übertragung einer 50 MB grossen Datei fast eine Minute dauert. Zum Vergleich: Mein alter Atari 1040STe hat bereits Mitte der 1990er Jahre rund 5 MB/s auf einer externen Festplatte über einen ACSI-SCSI-Adapter erreicht.

Das nachfolgende Diagramm ist die Messung eines „historischen“ USB-Sticks – „DiskOnKey“ – von M-Systems mit einer Kapazität von 128 MB der nur USB 1.1 unterstützt:

DiskOnKey 128MB
Ein USB-Stick mit einer Kapazität von 128 MB von M-Systems

HDTune mit DiskOnKeyGeschwindigkeitsmessung mit dem „DiskOnKey“

Im Jahr 2000 folgte USB 2.0 mit einer erhöhten Geschwindigkeit von 480 MBit/s. Externe Festplatten für dieses System waren ab 2002 verfügbar und erreichten etwa 30-40 MB pro Sekunde. Dieser Standard blieb fast 10 Jahre lang unverändert.

USB 3.0 wurde als Nachfolger zu USB 2.0 im November 2008 vom USB Implementers Forum eingeführt. Es dauerte danach aber noch eine ganze Weile, bis diese Technik auch praktisch verfügbar war. Mittlerweile, im Juli 2011, ist USB 3.0 auch in der Praxis angekommen – es gibt sowohl Mainboards, die mit USB 3-Controllern ausgestattet sind, wie auch Controller zum Nachrüsten existierender Computer in verschiedenen Variationen. Externe Festplatten und USB-Sticks mit USB 3.0 sind ebenfalls leicht zu bekommen.

Der Standard erhöht die maximale Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit auf 5 GBit/s, was mehr als das Zehnfache gegenüber USB 2.0 ist. Auch der maximal zulässige Strombedarf angeschlossener Geräte wurde erhöht von 500 mA (bzw. 2,5 Watt) auf 900 mA (bzw. 4,5 Watt), so dass auch der Betrieb von 2,5″-Festplatten ohne separate Stromversorgung kein Problem mehr ist (siehe dazu auch Mini-FAQ: Notebook-HDDs an USB). Der Anschluß wurde außerdem um fünf zusätzliche Kontakte erweitert, aber durch die Steckerform ist das System abwärtskompatibel – USB 3.0-Geräte lassen sich auch an USB 2.0-Ports betreiben und umgekehrt.

Durch die hohe Geschwindigkeit ist USB 3.0 vor allem für den Betrieb externer Massenspeicher interessant. Genau diesen Aspekt habe ich mir einmal genauer angesehen.

Controller

Der Controller ist ein DeLOCK 89284. Dieses Modell basiert auf dem VIA VL800, bietet vier externe USB 3.0-Ports und ist für den Betrieb in einen PCIe 2.0-Steckplatz vorgesehen. Ein zusätzlicher Molex-Anschluß stellt die stabile Stromversorgung der angeschlossenen Geräte sicher.

Delock USB3-Controller

Festplatte

Durch den Umbau meines Netbooks auf eine SSD vor einiger Zeit hatte ich noch eine 160 GB-Festplatte übrig – nicht extrem schnell, aber groß genug für den Transport größerer Datenmengen und immer noch schneller als die meisten USB-Sticks.

Diese Festplatte habe ich in ein externes Gehäuse, konkret ein ICY BOX IB-231StU3-G von RaidSonic, eingebaut. Das Gehäuse wird mit einem passenden Anschlußkabel geliefert und ist für den Betrieb ohne separates Netzteil gedacht, was bei USB 3.0-Ports auch kein Problem sein sollte – allerdings kann man dennoch ein 5 V-Netzteil anschließen, wenn nötig.

ICY Box IB231

Die Status-LED leuchtet beim Betrieb an USB 3.0 blau und bei USB 2.0 rot. Bei Zugriffen blinkt die LED. Der Micro-USB 3.0-Anschluss ist für das mitgelieferte Kabel mit erweitertem Stecker gedacht – zur Not kann man aber auch ein USB 2.0-Kabel verwenden – dann wird nur ein Teil der Buchse verwendet und die Festplatte läuft dann natürlich nur im langsameren USB 2.0-Modus.

Benchmarks

Nachfolgend der direkte Vergleich des Betriebs an USB 2.0 und USB 3.0.

Bei USB 2.0 wird die begrenzte Bandbreite sehr deutlich – die Lesegeschwindigkeit ist auf etwa 33 MB/s begrenzt.

Samsung USB2
Test mit USB 2.0

Mit USB 3.0 ist nur noch die Festplatte selbst der begrenzende Faktor und man erkennt deutlich die typisch abfallende Kurve zum Ende der Kapazität hin. Obwohl es sich nur um eine relativ langsame Notebook-Festplatte handelt, ist die Geschwindigkeit am Anfang mit rund 67 MB/s mehr als doppelt so hoch wie bei USB 2.0. Auch im Gesamtdurchschnitt ist die Geschwindigkeit immer noch deutlich höher, als über USB 2.0.

Samsung USB3
Test mit USB 3.0

Bei schnelleren Festplatten sind entsprechend höhere Werte zu erwarten, nachdem die theoretische Geschwindigkeitsgrenze von USB 3.0 bei über 400 MB/s liegt.

Mehr Komfort mit internem Hub

USB 3.0 ist bezüglich der Verkabelung kritischer als USB 2.0 – die externe Festplatte liess sich nur mit dem mitgelieferten, ca. 80 cm langen Kabel stabil betreiben. Bei einem längeren Kabel mit 1,80 Meter Länge wurde die Festplatte zwar erkannt, aber jede Datenübertragung brach nach einigen Sekunden ab – auch mit aktiver Stromversorgung der Festplatte.

Daher habe ich zusätzlich einen aktiven USB 3.0-Hub auf Basis eines VIA VL810 in einen freien 3,5″-Schacht eingebaut, der bequem von vorne zugänglich ist und einen stabilen Betrieb der externen Festplatte ermöglicht.

Interner USB3-Hub
Interner USB 3.0-Hub

Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.