Webfonts

For a long time I was sceptical about the use of webfonts. On one hand it is eligable for an author to use specific fonts for publishing his text – but on the other hand you restrict the visitors from choosing the most suitable fonts in their browser settings. Also some fonts are not rendered very readable in every environment.

Meanwhile I changed my mind as you can easily see when viewing my website with a newer browser. The selection of a suitable font which is readable well on different platforms is still important for a good result.

The use of fonts in web browsers

Originally it was not intended to specify fonts in HTML as only the structure (markup) of a document is described, like headings, paragraphs or lists. Netscape Navigator then invented the font element with which you could specify the font to be used for a text section – even though this contradicted the idea of HTML as now structure and layout got mixed.

Cascading stylesheets (CSS) brought the separation of structure and layout. CSS defines the layout of elements in an HTML document. To specificy the font there is the attribute font-family. Here you can either use specific indications like “Arial”, “Helvetica” or “Palatino” or “generic” names: “sans-serif” for a sans-serif font, “serif” for a serif font and “monospace” for a font with fixed with. If none of the specific fonts is available an alternative is selected according to the generic one. The most browsers allow to choose which fonts to be used for the three variants “sans-serif”, “serif” and “fixed width”.

Example – CSS rule to display paragraphs using the font “Arial” or if not available any sans-serif font according to the setting of the browser:

p { font-family:Arial, sans-serif; }

Embedding your own fonts as webfonts

First of all you have to provide the font in suitable formats as for example Embedded OpenType (eot), Web Open Font Format (woff) and TrueType (ttf) which covers all current browsers.

Then you load the font with @font-face and additionally add it in font-family so it gets used, as in the following example for the font “MyNiceFont” which is provided in two formats within the directory /fonts on the web server:

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont.ttf") format("truetype");
}

p { font-family:MyNiceFont, Arial, sans-serif; }

Explanation:

The indication font-family within the @font-face definition specifies the name of the font as it can be used. The src indication specifies the source of the font including the format. As you can see in the example, multiple formats are also possible. The browser automatically uses the first format which it supports. If no supported format is found or if the browsers lacks support for webfonts, the first available alternative font in the CSS rule will be used for the paragraph layout.

A font embedded this way will also be used for italic or bold fonts which often does not give good results as you normally would need different font styles. If you have multiple font styles available you can define them using @font-face blocks which all have the same name for the font but different indications for font-style and font-weight:

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont-regular.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-regular.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-regular.ttf") format("truetype");
}

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont-italic.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-italic.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-italic.ttf") format("truetype");
    font-style: italic;
}

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold.ttf") format("truetype");
    font-weight: bold;
}

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold-italic.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold-italic.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold-italic.ttf") format("truetype");
    font-weight: bold;
    font-style: italic;
}

Legal

Fonts are usually copyrighted material like pictures – therefore you should not just copy fonts you like from other web sites if the free use is not explicitly indicated. Better you look for free fonts at official providers as http://www.fontsquirrel.com/ you  buy a suitable license.

Update: Embedding webfonts as data URL

In  this article you find a more efficient method for embedding webfonts as data URL.

Leave a public comment

Your email address will not be published. If you want to contact me personally, see the imprint.

Webfonts

Lange Zeit war ich skeptisch, was die Verwendung von Webfonts betrifft. Einerseits ist es für einen Autor wünschenswert, für die Veröffentlichung seiner Texte auch bestimmte Schriften verwenden zu können – andererseits nimmt man dem Besucher mit exakten Schriftvorgaben die Möglichkeit, sich die für ihn angenehmste Schrift selber in den Einstellungen seines Browsers festlegen zu können. Auch werden manche Schriften nicht in jeder Umgebung gleich gut lesbar dargestellt.

Mittlerweile habe ich meine Meinung geändert, was man unschwer hier erkennen kann, wenn man meine Website mit einem aktuelleren Browser betrachtet. Die Auswahl einer geeigneten Schrift, die auf unterschiedlichen Plattformen gut lesbar ist, ist aber nach wie vor entscheidend für ein gutes Ergebnis.

Verwendung von Schriften in Web-Browsern

Ursprünglich war in HTML keine Vorgabe von Schriften vorgesehen, da nur die Struktur (Markup) des Dokumentes beschrieben wird, wie Überschriften, Absätze oder Aufzählungen. Mit dem Netscape Navigator wurde dann das font-Element eingeführt, mit dem auch die Schrift für einen Textabschnitt vorgegeben werden konnte – das widersprach aber der Idee von HTML, da nun Struktur und Layout vermischt wurden.

Mit Cascading Stylesheets (CSS) wurde eine Trennung von Struktur und Layout erreicht. CSS definiert das Erscheinungsbild von Elementen in einem HTML-Dokument. Für die Vorgabe von Schriften gibt es das Attribut font-family. Hier kann man sowohl konkrete Angaben machen, wie „Arial“, „Helvetica“ oder „Palatino“ aber auch „generische“ Namen angeben: „sans-serif“ für eine serifenlose Schrift, „serif“ für eine Schrift mit Serifen und „monospace“ für eine Schrift mit Festbreiten. Ist keine der konkret angegebenen Schriften vorhanden, wird eine Alternative anhand der generischen Angabe ausgewählt. Die meisten Browser bieten eine Einstellmöglichkeit an, welche Schrift jeweils für die drei Varianten „serifenlos“, „mit Serifen“ und „Festbreite“ verwendet werden soll.

Beispiel – CSS-Regel für Darstellung von Absätzen mit der Schrift „Arial“ oder wenn nicht vorhanden, einer beliebigen serifenlosen Schrift entsprechend der Einstellung des Browsers:

p { font-family:Arial, sans-serif; }

Einbinden eigener Schriften als Webfonts

Zunächst stellt man die Schrift als Datei in geeigneten Formaten zur Verfügung, z.B. als Embedded OpenType (eot), Web Open Font Format (woff) und TrueType (ttf), womit alle aktuellen Browser abgedeckt sind.

Dann lädt man die Schrift mit @font-face und gibt sie zusätzlich bei font-family an, damit sie verwendet wird, wie im nachfolgenden Beispiel für die Schrift „MyNiceFont“, die in zwei Formaten innerhalb des Verzeichnisses /fonts auf dem Webserver bereitgestellt wird:

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont.ttf") format("truetype");
}

p { font-family:MyNiceFont, Arial, sans-serif; }

Zur Erläuterung:

Die Angabe font-family innerhalb der @font-face-Definition legt den Namen der Schrift fest, mit der sie verwendet werden kann. Die src-Angabe gibt die Quelle inklusive Format für die Schriftdatei an. Wie im Beispiel zu sehen, sind auch mehrere Formate möglich. Der Browser nutzt dann automatisch das erste Format, dass er unterstützt. Wird kein unterstütztes Format gefunden oder fehlt die Unterstützung für Webfonts komplett, wird die erste, auf dem Computer vorhandene Alternativschrift der CSS-Regel für die Absatzformatierung verwendet.

Eine derart eingebundene Schrift wird auch für kursive oder fette Texte verwendet, was aber oft kein sehr gutes Ergebnis liefert, da hierfür normalerweise eigene Schriftschnitte benötigt werden. Hat man mehrere Schriftschnitte zur Verfügung, kann man auch diese durch mehrere @font-face-Blöcke definieren, die jeweils einen identischen Namen für die Schrift, aber unterschiedliche Angaben für font-style und font-weight enthalten:

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont-regular.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-regular.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-regular.ttf") format("truetype");
}

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont-italic.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-italic.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-italic.ttf") format("truetype");
    font-style: italic;
}

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold.ttf") format("truetype");
    font-weight: bold;
}

@font-face {
    font-family: MyNiceFont;
    src: url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold-italic.eot") format("embedded-opentype"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold-italic.woff") format("woff"),
         url("/fonts/mynicefont-bold-italic.ttf") format("truetype");
    font-weight: bold;
    font-style: italic;
}

Rechtliches

Für Schriften gilt grundsätzlich, dass sie, wie Bilder, urheberrechtlich geschützt sind – man sollte daher Schriften, die einem gefallen, nicht einfach von anderen Websites kopieren, wenn die freie Nutzbarkeit nicht explizit angegeben ist. Besser ist es, man sucht sich freie Schriften bei offiziellen Anbietern, wie http://www.fontsquirrel.com/, oder erwirbt eine geeignete Nutzungslizenz.

Update: Einbindung von Webfonts als Data-URL

In diesem Artikel wird eine effizientere Methode der Einbindung von Webfonts als Data-URL beschrieben.

Öffentlichen Kommentar hinterlassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Wenn Du mich persönlich erreichen möchtest, siehe Impressum.