Tag: WordPress

Topics: Web

Using Twig in WordPress plugins

Update 2022-06-13:

Be warned! It turns out that using Twig or any other depencies with composer in WordPress is in fact a bad idea! The problem is that other plugins or themes may also use the same components but in different version – and then this may end up in all kind of conflicts! For the time being I do NOT recommend to follow this article!


The basic structure of WordPress plugins is kept rather simple:

The file readme.txt file with a description in the header and a PHP file for the plugin initialization are required as a minimum requirement in the plugin directory. It is not absolutely necessary to implement your own classes, since the code is executed directly by WordPress – however, organizing it into classes makes readability and maintainability much easier.

Continue reading

Search with results in real time

From now on my website provides a search function with results in real time which are displayed as list below the search input. For this I developed a plugin for WordPress which uses the Ajax interface and runs the search while text is entered.

Yes, there are already plugins for this – but the implementation was not too difficult (about 190 lines of code) and I learned something about using Ajax with WordPress.

One thing missing is a good keyboard navigation, but this will propably be added as well. For now you can navigate using the [Tab] key.

Using the keyboard is also possible – with the tab key (or the key your browser uses for changing the focus) you can change from the search input to the result list and move between the entries in the list. The kursor keys  up and down ([↓] / [↑]) can also be used for navigation. To open an entry, press return ([↵]) or [enter]. With [Esc] the result list will be closed without opening an entry.

Versioning of static resources in WordPress

If you deal with WordPress you soon notice that static resources like style sheets or scripts get included with the parameter “ver”, as for example in the “Hemingway” theme:

href='http://server.example/wp-content/themes/hemingway/style.css?ver=4.1'

If you then validate the website, as for example with Pingdom, the “ver” parameter will be treated as a problem for efficient caching since content delivered by URLs with parameters may not be stored in a cache but fetched from the original server for every single request.

On the other hand the version information is important for the correct function of themes and plugins, especially when they get updated – if you are an author in this area you should definitely pay attention to the note at the end of this post.

Continue reading

Anatomy of an attack

At the beginning of this week my server became a target for a DDoS attack which eventually caused a massive overload. Therefore all websites on the machine where temporary not avaible any longer. The goal of this attack was obviously an attempt to exploit the pingback vulnerabilty of WordPress which already had been reported in March.

Update 2014-08-07: In fact it’s more likely that a problem in PHP in the context of XML had been exploited, also see this post about the details.

Continue reading

Multicolumn category list in WordPress

The widget to display categories in WordPress lists categories only in one column (as of version 3.8.1). However in many cases there would be enough room to split the list into two or more columns.

For this purpose I’ve created my first plugin for WordPress – “Multicolumn Category Widget”, a widget to display the top level categories in multiple columns.

See more on the project page →

Stichwort: WordPress

Themen: Web

Suche mit Ergebnissen in Echtzeit

Ab sofort gibt es auf meiner Website eine Suche mit Ergebnissen in Echtzeit, die als Trefferliste unterhalb des Suchfelds angezeigt werden. Ich habe dazu eine Erweiterung für WordPress entwickelt, die auf die Ajax-Schnittstelle zugreift und bereits während der Eingabe die Suche ausfüht.

Ja, es gibt dafür bereits Plugins – allerdings war die Umsetzung nicht all zu schwer (etwa 190 Zeilen Code) und ich habe dabei etwas über Ajax mit WordPress gelernt.

Die Bedienung mit der Tastatur ist auch möglich – man kann mit der Tabulator-Taste (der Taste, mit dem man im Browser den Focus wechselt) vom Suchfeld zur Liste wechseln und zwischen den Listeneinträge navigieren. Auch die Cursortasten [↓] und [↑] können für die Navigation benutzt werden. Zum öffnen eines Eintrag Return ([↵]) oder [Enter] drücken. Mit [Esc] wird die Liste mit den Suchergebnissen wieder geschlossen, ohne einen Eintrag auszuwählen.

Versionierung von statischen Ressourcen bei WordPress

Wenn man sich mit WordPress beschäftigt, stellt schnell fest, dass statische Ressourcen, wie Stylesheets und Scripte mit dem Parameter „ver“ eingebunden werden, wie z.B. beim „Hemingway“-Theme:

href='http://server.example/wp-content/themes/hemingway/style.css?ver=4.1'

Lässt man die Website dann überprüfen, z.B. bei  Pingdom, wird der „ver“-Parameter als Problem für effizientes Caching bemängelt, weil Inhalte von URLs mit Parametern mitunter nicht im Cache gespeichert, sondern jedesmal vom Server neu geholt werden.

Andererseits ist die richtige Versionsangabe aber auch für die korrekte Funktion von Themes und Plugins wichtig, besonders wenn diese aktualisiert werden – wer selber als Autor/in in diesem Bereich aktiv ist, sollte unbedingt den Hinweis am Ende dieses Beitrags beachten.

Weiterlesen

Web-Auftritt für Anfänger

Kürzlich wurde ich auf die Website von Björn Böhning, dem Chef der Senatskanzlei des Landes Berlin aufmerksam.

Herr Böhning dokumentiert auf seiner Website u.A. auch die Keynote zur „Digitalen Agenda“ und im Lebenslauf seine Position als netzpolitischer Sprecher der SPD seit 2009.

Man könnte annehmen, dass der Webauftritt eines Politikers, der schon vor etlichen Jahren als netzpolitischer Sprecher tätig war, wenigstens den grundlegenden handwerklichen Anforderungen genügt (Barrierefreiheit, technisch korrekte Umsetzung etc.). Diese Annahme ist wohl zu naiv – dafür aber ein gutes Beispiel für typische Anfängerfehler, die man vermeiden sollte.

Weiterlesen

Anatomie eines Angriffs

Anfang der Woche wurde mein Server Opfer eines DDoS-Angriffs, der zeitweise dazu geführt hat, dass sämtliche Websites darauf wegen massiver Überlastung nicht mehr erreichbar waren. Ziel des Angriffes war offensichtlich ein Versuch, die Pingback-Lücke von WordPress auszunutzen, über die bereits im März berichtet wurde.

Update 2014-08-07: Tatsächlich wurde wohl ein Problem von PHP im Zusammenhang mit XML ausgenutzt, siehe auch diesen Beitrag dazu.

Weiterlesen

Mehrspaltige Kategorieliste in WordPress

Das Widget für die Anzeige der Kategorien von WordPress listet die Kategorien nur in einer Spalte auf (Stand der Version 3.8.1). In vielen Fällen wäre aber genug Platz, um die Liste auf zwei oder mehr Spalten aufzuteilen.

Zu diesem Zweck habe ich mein erstes Plugin für WordPress gebaut – „Multicolumn Category Widget“, ein Widget für die mehrspaltige Anzeige der Hauptkategorien.

Mehr dazu auf der Projektseite →